About us - committee

The AAA is run by a committee of volunteers appointed at our first Annual General Meeting, on 28 September 2017.

Our constitution was ratified at our first general meeting on 2 February 2017.

We are a member of the Federation of Astronomical Societies (FAS), the main supporting body for UK astronomy. Members can download the latest FAS newsletters from our Members' Area.

Committee members

Dr Richard Young

Dr Richard Young, Director & founder

Director & founder

Mike Kirkham

Mike Kirkham, Chair


Linda Harper

Linda Harper, AAA Secretary

Committee Secretary

James Dale

James Dale, Treasurer/Membership

Treasurer & Membership

Joan Brame

Joan Brame, Membership Support

Membership Support

Philip Leigh

Philip Leigh, Star Party Coordinator

Star Party Coordinator

Tom Sharman

Tom Sharman, Committee Member

Committee Member

Nigel Osborne

Nigel Osborne, Committee Member

Committee Member

Mark Proctor

Mark Proctor, Webmaster/Social Media

Webmaster & Safeguarding

Committee meeting notes